Compliance

HIGHLY COMMITTED IN EVERY ASPECT

BANK OF AFRICA is inherently committed to complying with laws and regulations and has extremely high standards when it comes to compliance. Its entire operations are governed by a robust compliance policy which ensures that financial and banking industry regulations are strictly complied with.
The compliance policy extends to each of the Group’s subsidiaries by way of a genuine compliance culture that governs the behaviour of the Group entire staff at all times. Group Compliance, which is closely linked to risk management, plays a key role in ensuring that all stakeholders, particularly BANK OF AFRICA’s customers, are fully protected.

COMPLIANCE – A STRATEGIC ROLE

In 2019, BANK OF AFRICA finalised a range of policies enabling international and domestic subsidiaries to adopt the Compliance system. As part of the Group’s convergence programme, a number of solutions were introduced during implementation that are likely to enhance the systems that are already in place. The Group also pursued efforts at extending a Compliance culture to all subsidiaries.
In addition, the Group continued to play its part in combating money laundering and terrorist financing, as well as complying with FATCA legislation and maintaining high standards of ethics and professional conduct. Against such a backdrop, the Bank fostered ties with both internal and external partners – Bank Al-Maghrib, the UTRF, the AMMC, the CNDP, the IRS (United States), foreign banking correspondents as well as its network of branches and business centres.
Lastly, BANK OF AFRICA initiated a number of cornerstone projects in response to regulatory requirements relating to AML/ CFT (anti-money laundering). These projects and tools are designed to enhance Know Your Customer procedures, introduce a control strategy and undertake risk assessment.

COMPLIANCE INCORPORATED AT GROUP LEVEL

In 2019, in accordance with the Convergence project, BANK OF AFRICA continued to roll out Compliance across the Group through a number of initiatives and projects.

Roll out completed at subsidiary level

A significant number of subsidiaries implemented the Group Compliance system in 2019. As a result, every European subsidiary, 100% of BOA entities including BCB -Bujumbura as well Salafin in Morocco have now adopted the Group’s Compliance system. BANK OF AFRICA also shared Group standards with BANK OF AFRICA Shanghai and provided assistance to European subsidiaries undergoing audits by local regulatory authorities.
The Compliance Community seminar was held for the third consecutive year in March 2019. This event aims to foster a culture of dialogue and encourage information-sharing among the Group’s subsidiaries.
Lastly, in accordance with the new regulations introduced in 2019 and in compliance with the auditors’ recommendations, BANK OF AFRICA will initiate a far-reaching project to update existing standards and processes. This project will span 2020 and 2021.

Post-roll out assistance

BANK OF AFRICA’s Group Compliance project will now transition to the post-roll out phase by identifying the actions needed to enable each subsidiary to comply. In particular, this involves upgrading the body of standards at subsidiaries within the WAEMU region, enhancing the screening system for customers and transactions and adopting a new risk-based approach within screening systems at European subsidiaries. Lastly, subsidiaries are also being called upon to satisfy FATCA requirements and set up an antibribery management corruption system.

Other corrective actions have been implemented by subsidiaries to resolve the technical malfunctions of the screening and profiling systems caused by the introduction of a number of new IT projects at BOA Group (Banking, new Banking Accounting Plan).
Lastly, Group Compliance has made its subsidiaries aware of the need to resize their Compliance teams to ensure that the newly implemented systems are efficient and to improve the processing rates for profiling alerts.

Assistance for audited subsidiaries

Subsidiaries frequently undergo audit inspections by their regulatory authorities. 19 entities or 63% of the Group’s subsidiaries have been audited over the past three years. It should be noted that these audit inspections did not result in any sanction by the regulatory authorities.
In response to these audits, Group Compliance has set up a support system for its subsidiaries. This system is intended to assist subsidiaries by providing training to staff working in the Compliance function, producing deliverables, reviewing of systems and solutions and monitoring corrective action.
In addition, Group Compliance continued to provide assistance to subsidiaries by helping them with their post-audit remediation plan.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

Compliance​

Un haut degré d'engagement à tous les niveaux

Engagé de façon systématique à respecter les dispositions législatives et réglementaires, Bank of Africa se fixe un haut niveau d’exigence en matière de conformité. C’est ainsi qu’elle inscrit l’ensemble de ses activités à travers une véritable politique de Compliance afin de veiller au strict respect des réglementations propres au secteur financier et bancaire.
La politique Compliance s’étend à toutes les filiales du Groupe à travers une véritable culture de la conformité qui anime en permanence l’ensemble du personnel. Fortement corrélée à la gestion des risques, la Compliance Groupe joue un rôle clé pour assurer la protection de toutes les parties prenantes, en particulier celle des clients de Bank of Africa.

La complance : un rôle stratégique

En 2019, Bank of Africa a finalisé les différents dispositifs permettant le déploiement de la Compliance au niveau des filiales internationales et nationales. S’inscrivant dans le Programme Convergence du Groupe, le déploiement s’est accompagné de l’implémentation de plusieurs outils susceptibles d’améliorer les dispositifs mis en place. De plus, le Groupe a poursuivi ses efforts pour étendre la culture Compliance à travers l’ensemble des filiales.
Par ailleurs, le Groupe a continué d’assurer son rôle pour lutter contre le blanchiment d’argent, le financement du terrorisme, respecter la loi FATCA et pour garantir sa démarche éthique et déontologique. Dans ce cadre, la Banque a entretenu différents échanges avec ses partenaires aussi bien internes qu’externes : Bank Al-Maghrib, UTRF, AMMC, CNDP, IRS (USA), ses correspondants bancaires étrangers ainsi que son réseau d’agences et de centres d’affaires.
Enfin, Bank of Africa a engagé plusieurs projets structurants en réponse aux exigences réglementaires en matière de LAB/FT (blanchiment de capitaux). Ces projets et outils permettent d’améliorer les dispositifs de connaissance de la clientèle, de mettre en place une stratégie de contrôle mais aussi de s’exercer à l’évaluation des risques.

Intégration de la compliance au niveau du groupe

En 2019, conformément au Programme Convergence, Bank of Africa a continué le déploiement de la Compliance à l’échelle du Groupe à travers plusieurs actions et missions.

Finalisation du déploiement au niveau des filiales

La Compliance Groupe s’est déployée au niveau d’un nombre important de filiales en 2019. Ainsi, la politique de conformité Groupe s’est généralisée à toutes les filiales européennes, à 100% des entités BOA, y compris BCB-Bujumbura, ainsi qu’à Salafin au Maroc. Bank of Africa a procédé également au partage des normes Groupe avec sa Succursale à Shanghai et accompagné les filiales européennes soumises aux audits des régulateurs locaux.
Parallèlement, la troisième édition du séminaire sur la Communauté Compliance s’est tenue en mars 2019 afin de favoriser la culture de l’échange et du partage au sein des différentes filiales du Groupe.
Enfin, en ligne avec les nouvelles réglementations de 2019 et pour se soumettre aux recommandations des Auditeurs, Bank of Africa lancera un vaste chantier pour mettre à jour les normes et process en vigueur. Ce projet s’étalera sur 2020 et 2021.

Accompagnement post-déploiement

La mission Compliance Groupe de Bank of Africa se poursuit en phase de post-déploiement afin d’identifier les actions essentielles pour permettre à chaque filiale de se mettre en conformité. Il s’agit en particulier de mettre à niveau le corpus normatif des filiales de la région de l’UEMOA, de renforcer le dispositif de filtrage des clients et des transactions et de mettre en place une nouvelle approche par les risques des outils de profilage des filiales européennes. Enfin, les entités sont également appelées à décliner les obligations FATCA et à instaurer un dispositif de prévention contre la corruption.

D’autres actions correctives ont été mises en œuvre par les filiales afin de remédier aux dysfonctionnements techniques des outils de filtrage et de profilage survenus suite aux nouveaux projets IT menés par BOA Group (X-Banking, nouveau Plan Comptable Bancaire).
Enfin, la Compliance Groupe a sensibilisé ses filiales sur la nécessité de redimensionner les équipes dédiées à la Compliance et ce, afin de garantir l’efficacité des dispositifs déployés et d’améliorer les taux de traitement des alertes de profilage.

Assistance des filiales auditées

Les filiales sont soumises à des missions d’audit fréquentes de la part de leurs régulateurs. A ce titre, 19 entités ont déjà été auditées ces trois dernières années, soit 63% des filiales du Groupe. Il est à noter que ces audits n’ont conduit à aucune sanction de la part des Régulateurs.
Afin de répondre à ces missions d’audit, la Compliance Groupe a mis en place un dispositif d’accompagnement en faveur de ses filiales. Ce dispositif prévoit notamment d’aider les filiales pour la formation des équipes Compliance, la rédaction des livrables, la revue des dispositifs et des outils, le suivi des actions correctrices…
De plus, la Compliance Groupe a continué à apporter son assistance aux filiales pour les aider dans leur plan de remédiation post audit.

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart