BMCE BANK FOUNDATION

25-YEAR COMMITMENT TO PROMOTING EDUCATION AND THE ENVIRONMENT
For more than twenty years, BMCE Bank Foundation for Education and the Environment has been committed to initiatives in support of Morocco’s most disadvantaged communities. Our educational blueprint is founded on the principle that education should be a catalyst for social and cultural development as well as economic development. We are convinced that a society in which every individual has been given an opportunity to find his or her rightful place is a healthy one. That is why we have chosen to support the public authorities in the fight against illiteracy, pupils dropping out of school and the non-enrolment of girls in education. We are more than aware that we are fighting against the inevitable consequences of educational inequalities such as isolation and the impoverishment of rural communities, exacerbated in the digital era
Dr Leila Mezian Benjelloun
BMCE Bank Foundation Chair

ONE MISSION

Striving for equal opportunities

BANK OF AFRICA established BMCE Foundation for Education and the Environment in 1995 with the aim of promoting education in rural and disadvantaged regions and of acting to protect the environment.
Fully aware of the importance of education to Morocco’s development, the Group wished to underline its firm commitment by pursuing practical and sustainable initiatives via its Foundation.
By establishing ‘Medersat.com’, a programme focused on preschool and elementary education, the Foundation has endeavoured to improve access to education among rural communities. Each year, Medersat.com provides an education to more than 10,000 children from disadvantaged backgrounds in Morocco and sub-Saharan Africa.

This educational programme, which espouses values such as tolerance, modernity and open-mindedness, encourages foreign language learning as well as promoting the use of mother tongues such as Tamazight. This ground-breaking initiative in Morocco has seen Medersat.com team up with a number of partners. These include Hassan II University’s Confucius Institute and the Chinese Embassy for Mandarin Chinese teaching, which is provided either face-to-face or by distancelearning at a number of schools, the French Institute in Morocco for high-quality French teaching and IRCAM, renowned for its expertise in teaching Tamazight.
The remarkable and innovative work accomplished by the Foundation has not gone unnoticed nationally and internationally. In 2016, Dr Leila Mezian Benjelloun, the Foundation’s Chair was awarded the Al Arsh Wissam, one of Morocco’s most prestigious distinctions, by His Majesty King Mohammed VI, in recognition of her exceptional commitment to education in Morocco. One of this year’s highlights was Mr and Mrs Benjelloun being awarded the Visionary Award by the Middle East Institute in Washington.
As in previous years, BMCE Bank Foundation’s commitment to environmental causes was further highlighted in the Eco- Schools programme, in partnership with the Mohammed VI Foundation for Environmental Protection. In addition to incorporating environmental aspects into the construction of schools, the Eco-Schools programme is an educational project that educates pupils in sustainable development and invites them to adopt eco-friendly behaviour.

A BRIEF HISTORY
OF BMCE BANK FOUNDATION

BMCE BANK FOUNDATION

SUPPORTING EDUCATION AND THE ENVIRONMENT IN AFRICA

Nearly 200 units

built and fully equipped, specialising in pre-school and primary education, covering Morocco’s 16 regions

schools

62 schools

providing a pre-school and primary education to approximately 10,400 pupils from socially disadvantaged backgrounds

service-008

22,000 pupils

schooled - 50% of whom are girls and high school diplomas awarded to 1,465 students since 2012

service-006

500 teachers

48% of whom are female, supervised and supported

briks

230 hours/year of in-house

training provided to teachers in a variety of disciplines (languages/sciences/pre-school)

6 addresses

BMCE Bank Foundation’s operations in sub-Saharan Africa expanded, taking the total number of schools to 6: Senegal, Republic of the Congo, Mali, Rwanda, Djibouti, 1 socio-educational centre in Senegal

THE FOUNDATION AND ITS STRATEGIC GOALS

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart

La fondation BMCE BANK

25 ans d'engagement en gaveur de l'éduction et de l'environnement
La Fondation BMCE Bank pour l’Éducation et l’Environnement s’engage depuis plus de vingt ans dans des actions en faveur des populations les plus démunies du Maroc. Dans notre modèle d’écoles, nous pensons l’éducation comme levier du développement économique, social et culturel. Nous sommes convaincus qu’une société où il a été donné à chacun la possibilité d’y trouver sa place, ne peut que grandir. C’est pourquoi nous avons choisi de soutenir les pouvoirs publics dans la lutte contre l’analphabétisme, le décrochage scolaire, et la non-scolarisation des filles, sachant que nous luttons ainsi contre les implications inévitables des inégalités scolaires que sont l’isolement et la précarité des communautés rurales, plus importantes encore, à l’aune de la transformation digitale.
Docteur Leila Mezian Benjelloun
Présidente de la Fondation BMCE Bank

Une mission

Œuvrer pour l’égalité des chances

BANK OF AFRICA a créé en 1995 la Fondation BMCE Bank pour l’Education et l’Environnement, qui vise à promouvoir l’éducation dans les régions rurales et défavorisées et à agir pour la préservation de l’environnement.
Conscient des enjeux de l’éducation dans le développement du Maroc, le Groupe a ainsi souhaité marquer son ferme engagement à travers des actions concrètes et durables menées par le biais de sa Fondation.
Grâce à la mise en place d’un programme centré sur l’enseignement préscolaire et primaire, dénommé Medersat.com, la Fondation agit pour améliorer l’accès à l’éducation dans les communautés rurales. Medersat.com permet de scolariser chaque année plus de 10 000 enfants issus de milieux défavorisés au Maroc et en Afrique subsaharienne.

Bâti sur des valeurs de tolérance, de modernité et d’ouverture sur le monde, le programme pédagogique comprend l’apprentissage de langues étrangères mais valorise aussi les langues maternelles, notamment l’amazighe : Initiative inédite au Maroc concrétisée par des partenariats conclus avec l’Institut Confucius de l’Université Hassan II et l’Ambassade de Chine pour l’enseignement du Mandarin, assuré en présentiel ou à distance dans plusieurs écoles, avec l’Institut Français du Maroc pour une meilleure qualité de l’enseignement du français et avec l’IRCAM pour leur expertise en enseignement de l’amazighe.
Les actions remarquables et innovantes de la Fondation n’ont pas manqué de se distinguer sur le plan national et international. Pour rappel, l’une des plus prestigieuses distinctions marocaines, le Wissam Al Arch a été décerné en 2016 par Sa Majesté le Roi Mohammed VI à la Présidente de la Fondation, Mme Docteur Leila Mezian Benjelloun, afin de consacrer son engagement exceptionnel en faveur de l’éducation au Maroc. Cette année a été couronnée par le prix des personnalités visionnaires, décerné au Président M. Othman Benjelloun et Mme Docteur Leila Mezian Benjelloun par le Middle East Institute à Washington.
Comme tous les ans, la vocation environnementale de la Fondation BMCE Bank s’est exprimée à travers le programme Eco–Ecoles, mené en partenariat avec la Fondation Mohammed VI pour la Protection de l’Environnement. En effet, outre la prise en compte de composantes environnementales dans la construction d’écoles, le programme Eco-écoles est un outil pédagogique qui sensibilise les élèves à des notions de développement durable et les invite à adopter des comportements respectueux de l’environnement.

La fondation BMCE BANK
à travers le temps

FONDATION BMCE BANK

Au service de l’éducation et l’environnement en Afrique

Près de 200 unités

dédiées à l’éducation préscolaire et primaire construites et équipées, couvrant les 16 Régions du Royaume du Maroc.

schools

62 écoles

dédiées à l’éducation préscolaire et primaire construites et équipées, couvrant les 16 Régions du Royaume du Maroc.

service-008

22000 élèves

scolarisés – dont 50% de filles et 1 465 étudiants diplômés depuis 2012.

service-006

500 professeurs

dont 48% de femmes, supervisés et encadrés.

briks

230 heures/an de formation

continue des enseignants dans les divers domaines disciplinaires (langues/sciences/préscolaire).

6 adresses

Renforcement de la présence de la Fondation BMCE Bank en Afrique Subsaharienne portant le nombre des écoles à 6 : Sénégal, Congo-Brazzaville, Mali, Rwanda, Djibouti et Centre socio-éducatif au Sénégal

La fondation à travers
ses axes stratégiques

Start typing and press Enter to search

Shopping Cart